Log in

TNESOL Teacher of the Year

Know a great k-12 ESL Teacher?

Nominate them for TNTESOL Teacher of the Year!

Each year, TNTESOL recognizes an outstanding TNTESOL ESL Teacher from each of region of Tennessee at the Annual Conference and Business Meeting. One of the three regional winners will also be recognized as the Overall ESL Teacher of the Year. Nominees should be K-12 ESL teachers with distinguished careers in English language teaching and a history of service to students, schools, and communities.

Eligibility Guidelines:
    • Anyone can nominate a peer for this award.

    • To be considered for the award, the nominee must be a member of TNTESOL.

    • Join TNTESOL here!

To learn more:

  • View the selection criteria here.
  • Complete the nomination form here.
  • Submit nominations by August 15.


    Previous TNTESOL Teacher of The Year Winners

     West TN Middle TNEast TN
     2023 *Crystal HarperAndrew RaneyRachel van de Bovenkamp
     2021 Susan Smith* Tracy ThompsonHeidi Booker 
     2019 Katherine Perry * Jennifer Meyer  Claire Walter 
     2018 Elisa Bennett Tracy Brown * Gigi Santos
     2017 Carol Ray Richardson Jennifer Wilson Becky Young*
     2016 Magda Sakaan * Patricia Seyb Beth Lee
     2015 Margaret Yoder Claudia Thorndike * Betty Thomason
     2014 Dana Siegel Tiffany Wilson-Mobley * Christy Evans
     2013 Shelly Misenheimer * Shannon Holland Natalia Ward
    * Denotes Overall Winner
    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software